Marshmallow Rice Cookies (Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Nut-Free)

Post image for Marshmallow Rice Cookies (Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Nut-Free)

by Brenda on

Marshmallow Rice Cookies, or “Rice Krispy Treats” is one of those “All American” treats that you can expect to see at kid parties and in classrooms around the country. Am I right? The poor kiddos (and adults!) with food allergies need a version that is safe for them.

Why can’t people with Celiac eat Kellogg’s Rice Krispies? 

Rice Krispies seem like they should be gluten-free, since they’re made of rice. This is one of those cases where you have to read the ingredients carefully, and where gluten does not show up clearly as “Wheat” or “Gluten.” The gluten in Kellogg’s Rice Krispies is found in the malt flavoring, as it is made from barley, which contains gluten. For a short while, Kellogg’s offered a gluten-free version of their famous cereal, but they have since discontinued it.

Important: Use the Right Ingredients

I call out pretty specific ingredients here. Allergy moms have stick to certain brands to keep our kiddos safe. I spend many hours of my life researching safe foods for my family.

If you’re making this for someone who has food allergies, please only buy these brands, and double check the ingredients yourself. Please note that companies do not have to label whether a food product was manufactured on the same equipment as peanuts or other top allergens. They are only required to label for allergens if it contains that food. Consuming foods without knowing for sure if it is manufactured on the same equipment or even in the same facility as an allergen could be risky or even deadly to someone with a severe allergy. Please stick to these brands and verify that they are safe for yourself. 

Here are the details you need to know about these brands.

  1. The “butter” in these cookies Earth Balance Dairy-Free and Soy-Free Butter. It has no dairy, gluten or nuts.
  2. Campfire Marshmallows are the only marshmallows I know of that are for-sure safe for peanut allergy sufferers. You can read the company’s allergen statements here. I wish I could find a nut-free, gluten-free organic marshmallow without the unhealthy corn syrup that these Campfire Marshmallows contain. If you know of one, please let me know in the comments! You can buy Campfire Marshmallows online on Amazon, but the cheapest place I have found them is at our local Walmart store. Unfortunately, the only size Walmart seems to carry is the giant marshmallows, which is why I only used 11 in this cookie batch. If you’re able to find a different size package, please adjust the ingredients accordingly. I noticed a 10 oz bag online–if you find this size, try using only 4 cups of cereal and see what the texture is like. Add more cereal as needed.
  3. Erewhon Rice Cereal is not only organic, a healthier version than traditional Rice Krispies, but also safe for people with peanut, tree-nut, gluten and dairy allergies. You can read their allergen statement here.

 

Marshmallow Rice Cookies (Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free, Nut-Free)

Yield: 12 servings

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup Earth Balance Soy-Free Butter + extra for greasing the pan and spatula
  • 12 oz Campfire Marshmallows (approximately 11 large marshmallows)
  • 5 cups Erewhon Gluten Free Rice Cereal

Instructions

  1. Use Earth Balance to grease a 9x13 pan.
  2. Melt Earth Balance in large sauce pan over low heat.
  3. Add Campfire marshmallows and stir until melted, being careful not to brown.
  4. Add cereal and stir until the cereal is coated with the marshmallow mixture.
  5. Grease a clean spatula with Earth Balance. Use the greased spatula to spread the sticky cereal mixture into the 9x13 pan.
  6. Let rest for 30 minutes or more, and then cut into squares to serve.
Schema/Recipe SEO Data Markup by Zip Recipes Plugin
https://onelovelymess.com/marshmallow-rice-cookies-dairy-free-gluten-free-nut-free/

I hope that you enjoy these! Please leave your feedback below.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post: